Iowa Women’s Archives, Part 5

annie-day-5

“What’s your favorite part about working at Iowa Women’s Archives?”

How to pick a favorite part? It’s a great work environment with fun people and no shortage of work to do. What I love most, I think, is the sense of discovery. Since I do a lot of the social media posts, I’m constantly on the prowl for fun and unexpected items in our collections.  Besides that, whenever we get a new donation or I start processing a new collection for use, the boxes are full of surprises. I’ve found family letters, diaries filled with original poetry, baby shoes and family mementos. Once, I even found a lock of hair!

For anyone visiting, I’d say don’t be afraid to ask the curatorial staff questions. They know where some of the coolest stuff is!”

Annie Tunnicliff, Graduate Assistant, Iowa Women’s Archives, University of Iowa Libraries

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mom vs. Jess says:

    I used to be an interviewer for the Women at Iowa TV show. Fun times!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

